All posts for the month January, 2017

ns hmm

Northern Star  120117

Pallas Theme Northern Star

  • Beardfish – Roulette
  • Unaka prong – Clifford
  • Simon Godfrey – She has Tantrums
  • Huxley Would Approve – Grave new World
  • Magenta – greed
  • Brian Johnstone – Heart attack
  • Sean Filkins – The English Eccentric
  • Georgius – Apathy ( in the garden of despair)
  • Cosmos – Where the Tanks are rolling today
  • Spiritualized – Cop shoot cop
  • Yes – Roundabout (with P Moraz)
  • Machine dreams Black science
  • Phase – Homeseek Dark Blues
  • Animals as leaders – Aeriophobia
  • Chelsea Wolfe – Simple death
  • Drifting Sun – A year in Black
  • John Wetton – Cold is the night
  • Frank Zappa – the Torture Never Stops
  • TILT – No Superman
  • Steve Hillage – Not Fade away ( Glid forever)

Repeat Shows  Tuesday 1.00am  &  3.00pm GMT

Sunday at midnight GMT Podcasts of all the shows are available here

Subscribe to the show here

If you have an requests or ideas about shows

Or anything else for that matter?

Contact me on

I’m delighted to announce that the podcast for edition 182 of Live From Progzilla Towers is now available.

In part 2 of my best of 2016 edition we heard the following music:

  1. David Bowie – Lazarus
  2. Knifeworld – High/Aflame
  3. The Dowling Poole – One Hyde Park
  4. Matthew Parmenter – Inside
  5. Kiama – The Piper
  6. Anderson/Stolt – Knowledge
  7. Cosmograf – This Film Might Change Your Life
  8. Gong – Insert Yr Own Prophecy
  9. Karmakanic – Higher Ground

DVD of the year:

  1. King Crimson – Easy Money

Top Five:

  1. Evership – Flying Machines
  2. Different Light – Eternal Return
  3. Airbag – Disconnected
  4. I Am The Manic Whale – Open Your Eyes

Album of the year:

  1. Big Big Train – Winkie

iTunes/iPod users*: Just search for ‘Progzilla’ or subscribe to:


Progressive Tracks #193-2 (ProgPopFormat).jpg

The Progressive Tracks Show #193 (Pop-Radio Format Prog), originally broadcast (to the horror of many) on Friday January 13, 2017, is now available to download or listen to any time you desire.


  • Jethro Tull – “Only Solitaire (The Château d’Hérouville Sessions) [Stereo Mix]” composed by Ian Anderson from A Passion Play / The Château d’Hérouville Sessions on Parlophone UK
  • Primus – “Sathington Willoughby” from Frizzle Fry (Remastered) on Prawn Song
  • Spirit – “Animal Zoo” from Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus on Epic
  • Pink Floyd – “Pigs On The Wing, Part 1” from Animals (Remastered) on EMI UK
  • John Bassett – “Nothing Sacred” from Live From The Byre on Independent
  • Andre Dinuth – “Wy Knot” from Here With You on MoonJune Records
  • King Crimson  – “Radical Action” from Radical Action (To Unseat The Hold Of Monkey Mind) on DGM
  • El Trio – “Juan Quiere Venderla” from La Blanca y la Gris on El Trio
  • The Samuel Jackson Five – “Psycho Derelict” from Easily Misunderstood on Honest Abe Records
  • Yes – “Five Per Cent for Nothing” from Fragile (Deluxe Edition) on Rhino/Elektra
  • Elephant Stone – “Sally Go Round the Sun” from Elephant Stone on EMI
  • Marillion – “Just for the Record (Remastered)” from Clutching At Straws on Parlophone UK
  • Sontaag – “Spaceshifter” from Sontaag on Esoteric Recordings
  • Phideaux – “The Waiting” from The Great Leap on Bloodfish Media
  • Crescent Moon – “The Lidless Room” from The Lidless Room on Woodshop Musicstudio
  • Beyond-O-Matic – “Tick Tock Rock” from Relations At The Borders Between on Trail Records
  • Alaska – “Reason to Wonder” composed by Jean-Marc Lobjeois from Alaska on Lifescape Music
  • Gentle Giant – “Cogs in Cogs (2012 Remaster)” from The Power and the Glory (2012 Remaster) on Chrysalis Records
  • Armonite – “’G’ as in Gears (feat. Jacopo Bigi, Paolo Fosso, Colin Edwin & Jasper Barendregt)” from The Sun Is New Each Day on Merry-Go-Sound
  • Pink Floyd – “Pigs On The Wing, Part 2” from Animals (Remastered) on EMI UK
  • BONUS TRACK:  Big Big Train – “The Underfall Yard from The Underfall Yard on English Electric Recordings                                                                                                 

Enjoy the (temporary?) madness!

-Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack (a.k.a. ‘The Mic”)     ;o)

Edition 39 of THE PROG MILL is now ready for you to stream anytime or download.  This week we have another two hours of superb proggy tunes including music from The Neal Morse Band, La Bocca Della Verita, Nth Ascension, A.Plot, The Aurora Project, Huxley Would Approve, Carptree, Paradigm Shift, Tilt, Porcupine Tree, Damian Wilson & Adam Wakeman, Landmarq, Jon & Vangelis, Joseph Bridge and Rush.

You can hear THE PROG MILL at the following times on Progzilla Radio.

Sunday 2200-2400 GMT (Main Broadcast)

Tuesday 0400-0600GMT (Mon 8pm W Coast US, 11pm E Coast)

Tuesday 2300-0100GMT

Proggy music suggestions and music from bands/artists for airplay very welcome.  email



I’m delighted to announce that the podcast for Edition No 47 of The Ancient One is now available. This is a “Best of 2016” as chosen by Jim.


1 Aperco – The Battle. (The Battle)
2 Mike Kershaw – Gunning For The Gods. (What Lies Beneath)
3 Different Light – In The Grand Scheme Of Things Pt 1-8. (The Burden Of Paradise)
4 Big Big Train – London Plane. (Folklore)
5 Freedom To Glide – Enigma. (Fall)
6 Samurai of Prog – Plight Of The Swan. (Lost and Found)
7 Erik Norlander – The Galaxy Collector. (Surreal)
8 Poor Genetic Material – Absconded. (Absence)
9 Patchwork Cacophony – Fairytale Pt 1-4. (5 of Cups)
10 Granval – Creve Le Nuages. (Le Ciel Ouvert)
11 Fatal Fusion – Shadow Of The King. (Total Absence)
12 The Gift – The Tallest Tree. (Why The Sea Is Salt)
13 Airbag – Broken. (Disconnected)
14 Gandalf’s Fist – The Lamplighter Pt 1-8. (The Clockwork Fable)
15 Loonypark – New Beginning. (Perpetual)
16 Downriver Dead Men Go – Undertow. (Tides)

I’m delighted to announce that the podcast for edition 182 of Live From Progzilla Towers is now available.

In part 1 of my best of 2016 edition we heard the following music:

  1. Bent Knee – Eve
  2. Frost* – Numbers
  3. Maglev – Play The Game
  4. Rikard Sjoblom – Rhyme And Reason
  5. Skydyed – Endless Space
  6. Lazuli – Le Temps Est A La Rage
  7. Maschine – Resistance
  8. Red Bazar – Calling Her On
  9. N.Y.X. – Restless Slumber (At The Break Of Dawn)
  10. Tilt – Hinterland
  11. Haken – 1985
  12. The Gift – Tuesday’s Child
  13. We Are Kin – …That One Day…
  14. Iamthemorning – Too Many Years
  15. Kyros – Cloudburst
  16. Southern Empire – How Long

iTunes/iPod users*: Just search for ‘Progzilla’ or subscribe to:



The Progressive Tracks Show #192 (HodgePodge… a.k.a. Theme?  We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Theme!), originally broadcast on Friday January 6, 2017, is now available to download or listen to any time you desire.


  • Deep Purple “Time For Bedlam” from Infinite on earMUSIC
  • Larry Coryell “Birdfingers” from Introducing the Eleventh House on Vanguard Records
  • Weather Report “Seventh Arrow” from Original Album Classics: The Weather Report on Columbia/Legacy
  • Larry Coryell “Right On Y’All” from Introducing the Eleventh House on Vanguard Records
  • Paul Cusick “Dependance” from Demo (Single) on Independent
  • Jonas Lindberg & The Other Side “Peace of Mind” from Pathfinder on ModeMusic
  • Pain of Salvation “Meaningless” from In the Passing Light of Day on InsideOutMusic
  • Vaneta “Ferroform” from Antimemory on Lone Pine Records
  • Whalephant “Love of Dragon” from Kamma on Independent
  • Zhongyu “Tunnel At The End Of The Light” composed by Jon Davis from Zhongyu on MoonJune Records                                                                                                       

Enjoy… as you go exploring!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack